The LIEDERPROJEKT on a musical journey of discovery: With FOLK SONGS, the Calmus Ensemble invites you on a vocal journey around the world! From Ireland and England to Scandinavia, Russia, Taiwan, South Africa and all the way to Ecuador! And all this with only five singers? Yes, indeed!

21 Folk songs from five continents, 17 countries and 14 languages can be heard on this CD, the spectrum ranging from traditional, simple settings to highly virtuoso new arrangements made especially for Calmus.


Anja Pöche, soprano
Sebastian Krause, alto
Tobias Pöche, tenor
Ludwig Böhme, baritone
Manuel Helmeke, bass

* as guest: Peter A. Bauer, percussion (Track 15)

CV 83.034


  1. Tico-Tico no Fubá – Brazil (Arr.: Juan M. V. Garcia)
  2. I love my love – England (Arr.: Gustav Holst)
  3. Shchedryk – Ukraine (Arr.: Fredo Jung)
  4. Ich hab die Nacht geträumet – Germany (Arr.: Ludwig Böhme)
  5. Vasija de Barro – Ecuador
  6. Dashing away with the smoothing iron – England (Arr.: John Rutter)
  7. Roselil' og hendes moder – Denmark (Arr.: John Høybye)
  8. Tra bo dau – Wales
  9. The Wild Colonial Boy – Australia (Arr.: Naomi Crellin)
  10. Swa I Yan – Taiwan (Arr.: Juan M. V. Garcia)
  11. Vai žirge, žirgeli – Lithuania (Arr.: Vytautas Miškinis)
  12. Ol' kaunas kesäilta – Finland (Arr.: Jussi Chydenius)
  13. Salley Gardens – Ireland (Arr.: Ludwig Böhme)
  14. Till Österland vill jag fara – Sweden
  15. Aya ngena* – South Africa
  16. Lu guarracino – Italy
  17. I'm Seventeen come Sunday – England (Arr. Johannes Gerlitz)
  18. Es geht ein dunkle Wolken herein – Germany
  19. Vísur Vatnsenda-Rósu – Iceland
  20. Korobeniki – Russia (Arr.: Ludwig Böhme)
  21. Finnegan's Wake – Ireland (Arr.: Sebastian Krause)

Go back